Dragon Snacks #1

Welcome to Dragon Snacks, my new monthly feature here at Dragons in the Kitchen. Sometimes I get cool ideas for adventure hooks or jumping off points that just don’t merit an entire post. Sometimes I have things I want to talk about, like games, products, or things I’m working on, that also don’t deserve an entire post.  And sometimes I just have ideas to throw into the ether. This is what Dragon Snacks is going to cover. Every month I’ll give you three morsels that will hopefully help you with your gaming life.  Without further ado, here is the first installment of Dragon Snacks:

When was the last time you played a D&D adventure about ghosts? I was thinking about this the other day and I really couldn’t place an adventure I’d played, seen, or heard others talking about where ghosts were the major antagonists. Some adventures will have ghosts thrown in, but they never take a starring role. If you look at the Monster Manual, they seem like more of a pain in the ass than anything. But, if you treat it as more than number and throw in the lore ghosts become really interesting. The one thing that sticks out to me is possession. Imagine, players possessed by ghosts…

Swarms of vermin can make a viable adventure.  Why do adventurers always have to fight the wizard in his tower or the zombies that come at night? What a beleaguered village asks a group of passing adventurers to help with their rat problem? What if a city is so desperate to be rid of their plague of crows they put a bounty on the birds? The cool thing here is that it can stand as its own adventure or be a portent of something more powerful on the horizon.

I prefer minis. This might be obvious from reading my blog, but I don’t think I’ve ever put it into black and white. So here it is, given the choice between a game that uses minis and one that doesn’t, I will almost always pick the game that uses minis. I guess it just helps me visualize combat better. I always like it when players have a mini just for the character they’re currently playing (I do this). It makes me feel like they’re more invested in the game when they took the time to buy and paint something that will only ever be that one character.

Leave a Reply

