My Halloween Adventure: Part 1 – Inspiration

Every year I like to dig deep into my collection of role playing games and use my encyclopedic knowledge of horror films to run a group of friends through a terrifying role playing experience.  I enjoy it so much that I’m doing it twice this year, one game using the Supernatural Role Playing Game to give two of my friends a little nostalgia and another that I’m going to show to all of you.  Over the course of this month I’m going to talk about the inspiration for this adventure, how I put it together, what the players thought of it, and finally I’ll share the adventure for your use.  I’m going to be using White Wolf’s World of Darkness system.  First I’ll talk about what inspired the adventure.

I’ve been watching a lot of horror movies lately (follow me on twitter at @Costontine to find out just what I’m watching this month) and I like for these adventures to follow the plot or concept of a movie my friends and I like.  But I decided this year I wanted to give them a Shyamalan style twist.  I’m taking my inspiration from the 1988 film Waxwork.  In Waxwork, wax models of classic horror characters kill victims so they can come into our world and cause the apocalypse.  It’s cheesy, gory, has the guy who played Gimli in it, has a midget (like all movies in the 80’s), and is just really fun.  Plus all the murders can pass for something else; how do you tell the difference between a werewolf and a wax werewolf?

Taking this as my starting point, I’m going to plan out the scenes and encounters I’m going to throw at the players.  Next week I’m going to talk about the points I want to hit over the course of the game and how I’ll tie them together.

Leave a Reply

