I’ve Seen Enough Hentai to Know Where This is Going (Adventure in the Post Apocalypse)

With my Eberron game on hiatus, I needed to fill the void somehow, so I invited some friends who I don’t play with as much over to play some Gamma World.  Now, I love D&D, but Gamma World is probably about my favorite game ever.  I don’t get to play or run it nearly enough, but every time I do something worth talking about happens.  And most of these stories involve someone’s character dying.  There’s a randomness to Gamma World that other games I’ve played simply don’t have.  Your gear, your character, your powers, all are decided by the roll of a die or the drawing of a card.  My friends laughed and enjoyed this aspect, loving when they rolled things on the character table like Demon or Octopoid.  There’s also a laughable deadliness to it, and by that, I mean it’s so easy to die in this game its funny.  The only time I was a player, my character, Dr. Ken Lovecraft, a scientist who reanimated the dead and also shot hadoukens, was laser eyed to death by a Yexil (they’re extra dimensional lions with bug faces and bat wings.  Also, they can talk and they eat clothing.).  Or my friend’s character who overcharged a mutant power which resulted in her death but also the death of her target.

I guess the point I’m trying to make here is that it doesn’t always have to be serious.  Well my actually sessions are rarely somber, the subject matter of the game is often dark, murders and treasons and all that sort of thing.  But with Gamma World, the game is as ridiculous as the jokes being made around the table.  The characters of Gamma World don’t deal with dragons or treacherous lords; they deal with weird creatures from other dimensions and mutant pigs.  Instead of swords and axes, characters use whatever they can get their hands on, hammers, bricks, some things not fit to mention.  In this game death isn’t a horrible thing.  Sometimes a death can really blacken a D&D game, the table isn’t the same after, but in Gamma World a death means the adventure of making a new character and usually a funny story about a ridiculous death.  The lesson here is don’t be afraid to not take things seriously once in a while, you never know what stories will come up.

Leave a Reply

